Arthur Ransome Trust

Putting Ransome on the Map

Books by Arthur Ransome

Our chronological Books by Arthur Ransome list includes every book he wrote. The best known today are his twelve Swallows and Amazons novels, published between 1930 and 1947. His other works include folk tales, literary criticism and significant contributions to sailing, fishing and political literature.

The date shown is first UK publication. Titles in bold are currently in print in the UK.  Please note that Amazon Publications publish privately to members of The Arthur Ransome Society.

The most comprehensive listing of Arthur Ransome’s works is available in: Arthur Ransome, A Bibliography, Wayne G Hammond (2000) ISBN 1-58456-022-3.

Books by Arthur Ransome, published during his life:

Books by Arthur Ransome published after his death:

Ransome's drawing of a dog on weighing scales, our books by arthur ransome logo

A good book is not merely a thing that keeps a child (or a grown-up person) amused while reading. It is an experience he shares, something that he himself lives.

In Books by Ransome:

Continue exploring Ransome’s Bibliography:

Ransome's drawing of two children discovering a cave, our discover ransome logoRansome's drawing of a wooden hut in snow, our bibliography logoRansome's drawing of a dog on weighing scales, our books by ransome logoRansome's drawing of grasshoppers, our contributions logoRansome's drawing of geometric signalling shapes, our articles logobooks-about-ransome-1